Over the years, our marine, river and beach water monitoring programmes have helped to provide useful water quality information to the public, monitor long-term changes in water quality, assess compliance with the Water Quality Objectives, provide background data for environmental impact assessment, identify water bodies in need of improvement, evaluate the effectiveness of pollution abatement plans as well as provide scientific data for making planning decisions.

There are noticeable improvements in water quality in Hong Kong over the years. The monitoring has recorded that water quality of rivers across Hong Kong has improved substantially, after a series of remedial measures introduced in the late 1980s and 1990s. In terms of compliance with the statutory WQOs, there was a steady rise in compliance rates. From a mere 49% overall compliance rate in 1986, which fell further to 47% in 1987, the rate moved steadily upwards through the 1990s to finally beyond 80% in 2000. Since then it has remained more or less steady, with compliance rates around 90% as recorded in recent years from 2008 to 2010, which represented the highest rate ever since the monitoring commenced in 1986.

Shing Mun River
Shing Mun River

Clear signs of improvement in the water quality of Victoria Harbour and Tolo Harbour have also been recorded. Despite continuous population growth, excellent water quality has been maintained in Port Shelter and Mirs Bay. In terms of overall compliance with the key WQOs across Hong Kong waters, it has improved from 76% in 1986 to 80% and above since 2002. In 2010, the marine water quality in Hong Kong achieved about 80% overall compliance with the WQOs. The overall compliance rate is based on the combined individual compliance rates of all monitoring stations for the four important key parameters, namely dissolved oxygen, total inorganic nitrogen, unionised ammonia, and where applicable, E. coli.

Similarly, over the years, many beaches have been transformed into popular, safe, and enjoyable places for swimming. The WQO-compliance rate for bathing beaches began with 74% in 1986, dipped to a lowest 58% in 1995 and then steadily improved to 100% since 2010. All gazetted beaches have benefited from the long-term trend of water quality improvement. Beaches with the best quality are mainly located in Southern District on Hong Kong Island, Sai Kung and the outlying islands.

Lido Beach
Lido Beach

The level of toxic substances in marine water, sediment and marine organisms have generally met overseas standards for the protection of marine life and human health.

Links for the details of the quality of our waters:

多年來,我們的監測計劃就本港海域、河溪及泳灘不斷地向公眾提供有用的水質數據資料,為各水體水質的長期轉變趨勢作檢測,為各區水質指標達標率作評估,為環境評估研究提供背景資料,確認本地有需要改善的水體,評估污染管制措施的成效和為政府的規劃決定提供科學數據。

香港的水質在過去數十年得到顯著的改善。其中在1980年代末和1990年代推出的一系列改善措施後,河道監測錄得全港各河流的水質已大為改善。符合法定水質指標達標率穩步上升。整體達標率在1986年只有49%,在1987年進一步下降到47%,其後在1990年代持續穩步向上,終於在2000年打破了80%的水平。在近年(從2008年到2010年)達標率一般保持在90%上下,這是自從於1986年開始監測以來錄得最高的記錄。

城門河
城門河

根據監測記錄,維多利亞港及吐露港的水質改善最為明顯。儘管人口持續增長,牛尾海及大鵬灣水質一直保持良好。海水符合水質指標的情況由1986年的76%上升至自2002年以來一直維持在80%或以上。2010年整體符合水質指標達標率約80%。海水水質的整體達標率是以四個主要參數即溶解氧,總無機氮,非離子氨和大腸桿菌(如適用)在所有監測站的達標率作為基準。

同樣,泳灘水質的改善亦是一個成功的例子。多年來多個泳灘已成為受歡迎、安全及令人愉快的游泳場所。泳灘的水質指標達標率由1986年的74%,跌至1995最低的58%,然後穩步持續改善到由2010年起的100%。所有憲報公布泳灘均受惠於長期水質改善的趨勢。而最優質的海灘主要位於香港島南區,西貢及離島。

麗都灣泳灘
麗都灣泳灘

整體而言,於本港海水中,沉積物及海洋生物內所錄得的有毒物質水平均符合外國地區為保護海洋生物和人類健康而訂立的指標。

關於各項水質資料,請參閱下列專題: