Sewage is something that every human settlement must deal with : if we treat it lightly we put ourselves at risk of outbreak of water-borne diseases. The responsible handling of sewage is a big factor in maintaining a safe and healthy community, and everybody has a role to play.

Sewage Treatment in Hong Kong

Making sure that sewage is dealt with effectively and in a cost-efficient way is a huge challenge. Above 93% of the populace is currently served by the public sewerage system, with its sewerage network of about 1,800 kilometres and around 300 treatment facilities collecting and treating 2.8 million cubic metres sewage per day.

Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works
Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works

Sewerage Master Plans

The EPD has devised 16 Sewerage Master Plans to serve the sewage needs of each catchment area in Hong Kong. These plans provide blueprints of the infrastructure required to collect sewage and direct it to treatment facilities before disposal into the sea. The recommended works set out in the plans are being implemented progressively to cater for the present and future development needs of Hong Kong. The plans are subject to regular review and updating to reflect revised population forecasts and the expected level of economic development.

Harbour Area Treatment Scheme

The Government has also upgraded the harbour area sewage treatment at a strategic level through implementation of the Harbour Area Treatment Scheme (HATS). Stage 1 of HATS, which was brought into full operation in late 2001, included the construction of a chemically-enhanced primary sewage treatment works on Stonecutters Island. The treated sewage is discharged through an outfall into the western part of the Harbour. The areas served by Stage 1 include the whole of the Kowloon Peninsula, Tseung Kwan O, Kwai Chung, Tsing Yi, Tsuen Wan, Shau Kei Wan and Chai Wan. Stage 2A was commissioned in late 2015, redirecting the remaining sewage from the northern and southwestern parts of Hong Kong Island, which previously received only preliminary treatment, to the newly expanded Stonecutters Island Sewage Treatment Works for chemically enhanced primary treatment and disinfection. The scheme has already substantially improved the overall water quality of Hong Kong's best known icon, Victoria Harbour.

污水是人類居住環境中必須解決的一個問題,妥善處理污水有助減低經由水傳播疾病的危險,保障社區的安全與健康,而我們每人都可以付出一分力。

香港的污水處理

要以有效而符合成本效益的方式處理污水一點也不容易。全港超過93%的人口使用公共污水收集系統,這個系統包括總長度約1,800公里的污水系統網絡及約300座污水處理設施,每天負責收集和處理約280萬立方米污水。

昂船洲污水處理廠
昂船洲污水處理廠

污水收集整體計劃

環保署擬訂了覆蓋全港的16項「污水收集整體計劃」,以集中處理各個污水收集區的污水。計劃是污水收集基礎設施的藍本,用以收集全港每個污水收集區的污水,再引流到污水處理廠進行處理,最後才排出海港。為配合香港現時及未來發展的需要,當局已陸續落實各區「污水收集整體計劃」中建議的工程。此外,為配合本港新修訂的人口預測和預期的發展水平,計劃會定期檢討。

淨化海港計劃

政府透過落實「淨化海港計劃」,策略性地提升維港兩岸的污水處理設施。第一期計劃已經於2001年年底全面投入運作,包括於昂船洲建造一個化學強化一級污水處理廠。處理後的污水經隧道排放至維港西面海域。第一期計劃的服務地區包括整個九龍半島、將軍澳、葵涌、青衣、荃灣、筲箕灣及柴灣。第二期甲已於2015年年底啟用,將餘下源自港島北部和西南部以往只經基本處理的污水截流,再輸往新擴建的昂船洲污水處理廠進行化學強化一級處理及消毒,計劃已顯著改善了香港最著名地標—維港—的整體水質。